“Bastusan na!”

Not a lot of bands can get away with having this as a slogan. It’s rude, it’s harsh, it’s nasty, and how would all those conservative ears react? But they get away with it, because, well, that’s how their music sounds!

The band in question needs no introduction. They’re Kjwan, one of the biggest—and loudest—rock acts in the Philippines.

The Manila-based group has been unstoppable since the members got together in 2003, pounding eardrums with their unforgiving sound, most notably in the foot-stomping first single “Daliri”. Over the years, Kjwan—whose current lineup consists of Marc AbayaBoogie RomeroKelley Mangahas, and Inky de Dios—have become a favorite among head-banging, hard-rocking Pinoys everywhere.

After Kjwan’s self-titled debut in 2004 came two more albums that saw them improving on and adding softer elements to their rock formula: 2 Step Marv (2006) and 13 Seconds to Love (2009).

In 2007, Kjwan snagged the grand prize at the first IKON ASEAN music competition in Malaysia, where they beat out 30 other Southeast Asian acts in the group category. With an international triumph under their belt, Kjwan was granted the Ani ng Dangalaward by the Office of the President and the National Commission for Culture and the Arts and were honored as anInternational Awardee at the 21st Awit Awards. Oh, and they also have a slew of NU Rock AwardsMTV Pilipinas Video Music Awards, and MYX Music Awards to their name.

Kjwan is set to release new material in three four-song installments in 2012, beginning with Kjwan IV: Volume One, which was launched earlier this year.

Press play on the videos below for a hit of Kjwan’s brand of rock.
and here's the music video of their current single, Walang Kaso, of their new release
Rock out as Kjwan wrecks the stage at the first-ever Manila Music Festival, happening on May 1 at the Alphaland Bay City, Paranaque City.