What do you get when hard rock icons Queso, Pinoy soul revivalists Sinosikat, local metal lords Skychurch, and funk-powered four-piece Enemies of Saturn meet at a rager, get along, and end up spending the night together?

The resulting enfant terrible is WilaBaliw, a hard-hitting, ear-splitting, convention-defying supergroup.

The project was dreamed up by bandleader Ian Tayao back when he was still with his former band, Queso. The rock rogue envisioned a group that would throw itself into delivering not just a solid musical performance, but a rollercoaster ride of a show.

In 2010, the pieces of this vision fell into place and WilaBaliw was born, with Tayao on vocals, erstwhile Queso and Skychurch drummer Robert dela Cruz pounding the kit, Francis Magat of Sinosikat and Sound fame on bass, and Enemies of Saturn axeman and blues prodigy Louis Isok on guitars.

WilaBaliw builds on the musical strengths of each of its members, with shades of rock, metal, funk, and reggae coloring their output. And with stage veteran Ian Tayao’s unmatched bravado rounding out the package, a WilaBaliw performance is guaranteed to be one crazy flurry of lights and sounds.

The four-piece released their self-titled debut on the auspicious date of October 10, 2010, to much acclaim from both peers in the rock industry and Queso’s long-time fans.

Hit play on the videos below for a peek into WilaBaliw’s sonic experimentations:
Witness the explosive WilaBaliw at the first-ever Manila Music Festival, happening on May 1 at the Alphaland Bay City, Paranaque City